Heart of the Storm

Title: Heart of the Storm

Author: Michael Buckley

Series: Undertow # 3 (Undertow, Raging Sea)

Publication: February 7th 2017 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Pages: 320

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

After seven months as a captive of Minerva, the insane Alpha queen, Lyric Walker has escaped to the surface. Her only goal is to warn the world about the Great Abyss. When she finally arrives back in Coney Island, she discovers a world she never expected, one where humans and Alpha are finally working hand in hand to rebuild the country. But she soon discovers that an old enemy allied with an old friend may kill them all before the monsters get their turn.

Where will Lyric’s loyalties, and her heart, lead her? With nail-biting action and romance, Michael Buckley’s epic trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.


My Thoughts:

Sometimes, writing reviews for books you love is difficult. Sometimes, it’s even harder to say goodbye to a series you’ve been in love with since day one. Heart of the Storm immediately follows the events of Raging Sea, to an extent. It’s the first book in the trilogy to jump back and forth through time – highlighting Lyric’s time while captive as well as the current events after her escape. Heart of the Storm is a brilliant conclusion to a series that has sunk its claws deep into my being. I’ve been a fan of Lyric and her gang of misfit friends since the start, and now it’s time to say goodbye.

Continue reading

Ever the Hunted

Our lives are, like these woods, ever changing. Nothing is static. And so you cannot count on an easy, carefree life to always remain that way. Or a harsh existence to stay the same.

Title: Ever the Hunted

Author: Erin Summerill

Series: A Clash of Kingdoms # 1

Publication: : December 27th 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Pages: 400

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.


My Thoughts:

My gosh! Oh, how I love fantasy. Not only was Ever the Hunted unique, original, and exciting, it also held favorite elements from stories all around. It was brilliant, thoughtful; and I devoured it in less than five hours. I have no idea how to describe the sheer wonder of the experience I just had – everything is so fresh in my brain. It was a virtual reality, visceral, moving adventure.

Continue reading

Speed of Life

“What I promised is to help you, but you can’t abandon her like this. Goddammit Crystal, you’re her mother! It’s time you stop pretending that she dropped out of the fucking sky when the stork flew over our house by accident!”

Title: Speed of Life

Author: J.M Kelly

Series: Standalone

Publication: October 11th 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Pages: 352

Source: Publisher in exchange for a honest review

Summary from Goodreads:

Twins Crystal and Amber have the same goal: to be the first in their family to graduate high school and make something of their lives. When one gets pregnant during their junior year, they promise to raise the baby together. It’s not easy, but between their after-school jobs, they’re scraping by.

Crystal’s grades catch the attention of the new guidance counselor, who tells her about a college that offers a degree in automotive restoration, perfect for the car buff she is. When she secretly applies—and gets in—new opportunities threaten their once-certain plans, and Crystal must make a choice: follow her dreams or stay behind and honor the promise she made to her sister.

A Listical of Things:

  • The story is a brilliant showcase of a heartbreakingly realistic sisterhood.
  • There is a set of twins that want completely different things and don’t hate each other for it.
  • FAMILY! Family is everything in this book. It’s amazing.

  • The cutest child ever to grace a YA novel is an active member of the chaos.
  • The narrative is genuine, thoughtful, and unique.
  • Vivid story telling gives way to an equally vivid and impactful plot.
  • Raw, heartfelt, and honest.
  • Any one who has ever had a sibling will relate to a majority of this book in ten seconds flat.

  • You should read this simply because I said so. (It’s amazing. Seriously)

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Coming Soon: October 2016

The best part about October is Halloween. Not really (yes really, but still). No, the best part about October is the insane amount of long awaited books now available for the unlimited consumption of book nerds and the like. Get ready to make the first page of that Christmas wishlist!

Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett

Summary from Goodreads:

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Jenny Han comes a new novel that asks, can you possibly know the person you’re becoming if you don’t know the person you’ve been?

Addison Sullivan has been in an accident. In its aftermath, she has memory lapses and starts talking to a boy that no one else can see. It gets so bad that she’s worried she’s going crazy.

Addie takes drastic measures to fill in the blanks and visits a shadowy medical facility that promises to “help with your memory.” But at the clinic, Addie unwittingly discovers it is not her first visit. And when she presses, she finds out that she had certain memories erased. She had a boy erased.

But why? Who was that boy, and what happened that was too devastating to live with? And even if she gets the answers she’s looking for, will she ever be able to feel like a whole person again?

October 4th 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Add to Goodreads

Continue reading

Coming Soon: June 2016

It’s that time of the month my lovelies, more books are coming out soon. I have no idea what to do with myself, THERE ARE SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS COMING OUT! Argh, I need them all. I can’t wait to get my hands on some of these beauties.

1.738 Days by Stacey Kade

Summary from Goodreads:

At fifteen, Amanda Grace was abducted on her way home from school. 738 days later, she escaped. Her 20/20 interview is what everyone remembers—Amanda describing the room where she was kept, the torn poster of TV heartthrob Chase Henry on the wall. It reminded her of home and gave her the strength to keep fighting.

Now, years later, Amanda is struggling to live normally. Her friends have gone on to college, while she battles PTSD. She’s not getting any better, and she fears that if something doesn’t change soon she never will.

Six years ago, Chase Henry defied astronomical odds, won a coveted role on a new TV show, and was elevated to super-stardom. With it, came drugs, alcohol, arrests, and crazy spending sprees. Now he’s sober and a Hollywood pariah, washed up at twenty-four.

To revamp his image, Chase’s publicist comes up with a plan: surprise Amanda Grace with the chance to meet her hero, followed by a visit to the set of Chase’s new movie. The meeting is a disaster, but out of mutual desperation, Amanda and Chase strike a deal. What starts as a simple arrangement, though, rapidly becomes more complicated when they realize they need each other in more ways than one. But when the past resurfaces in a new threat, will they stand together or fall apart?

June 7th 2016 by Forge Books

Add to Goodreads

Continue reading