Trusting You & Other Lies

Title: Trusting You & Other Lies

Author: Nicole Williams

Series: Standalone

Publication:  June 20th 2017 by Crown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 304

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?


My Thoughts:

I am blown away by how thoroughly I enjoyed this book. I expected to like it. I expected to smile and laugh and swoon a bit. I did not expect the randomly laughing out loud in public, grinning like an idiot, and swooning so hard I reached space type experience from this book. Trusting You & Other Lies is one of the best contemporary romances I’ve read yet this year. It handles romance, sure, but it also covers family and trust and building relationships from the ground up. It’s heartfelt, funny, and surprisingly heart wrenching at times. Trusting You & Other Lies is one of those books I am damn sure happy I found and picked up.

Continue reading

Coming Soon: March 2017

It’s been too long since I’ve done one of these. Who else is ready for ALL THE BOOKS!

Books are amazing, unique packages of magic and every month there is a whole slew of new additions to the fold. Here are some of my most anticipated books coming out this upcoming month.

Continue reading

The Lost and the Found

 

Title: The Lost and the Found

Author: Cat Clarke

Series: Standalone

Publication: September 13th 2016 by Crown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 368

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

THE LOST
When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Since then, Faith’s childhood has revolved around her sister’s disappearance—from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention, to dealing with so-called friends who only ever want to talk about her missing sister.

THE FOUND
Now, thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the front yard of the Logans’ old house, disoriented and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Can her sister finally be back? Faith always dreamed of her sister coming home; she just never believed it would happen. But soon a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated from her family and paranoid about her sister’s motives. Before long, Faith begins to wonder if it’s the abduction that’s changed her sister, or if it’s something else. . . .


My Thoughts:

The Lost and the Found was not what I expected at all, and it was perfect because of it. I don’t mean perfect in the literal sense because there were things in the novel that could have and should have been left out – which I will get into later. But, really though, it’s so damn difficult to resist a good plot. Especially when the plot is well thought out, full of twists and turns, and leaves you gasping for more. The Lost and the Found is emotional, hard-hitting, and is basically every parent’s nightmare come to life.

Continue reading

Summer of Supernovas

“…if time were really measured in grains of sand, I would take this grain and flatten it. Stretch it as far as physics allowed, let myself bask in this feeling. Forever and ever and ever.”

Title: Summer of Supernovas

Author: Darcy Woods

Series: Standalone

Publication: May 10th 2016 by Crown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 352

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.
 
When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.
 
But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.


My Thoughts:

Just… just…. awwww! Summer of Supernovas is so damn cute. It was the perfect read. It was adorable, fast, fluffy, full of romance, and an all around joyous experience.

This book was one of the cutest, happiest contemporaries I’ve read in a while. I’m so used to there being some deeper, dark message. I’m used to their being tragedy and heartbreak. Summer of Supernovas was so refreshing. It was the perfect thing to read during finals week – I needed something happy to take my mind off of all the homework and studying and all around chaos of moving out for the summer. This book will make your head fly through the clouds and stars dance before your eyes. It was a delicious summer romance.

While I’ve never been one to pay attention to horoscopes and astrology, our protagonist Wilamena is completely obsessed. She is convinced she only has a short amount of time to find her soulmate, only her soulmate is from the opposite side of the tracks – as it were. I really liked Wil as a main character. Not only did I learn a heck of a lot about something I had no clue about, she is brilliant. Just… She knows what she wants and she isn’t afraid to go out and get it. She is logical, she makes reasonable decisions based on pros and cons, but she still makes mistakes. I mean, don’t we all? She felt real. She felt like a real girl who, even though she thought she knew things, still was unsure in her heart. I loved that she clung to her beliefs, I loved how she listened to herself. I loved her, to be honest.

Now, there is a love triangle-esqu thing going down in this book. We’ve got two swoon worthy men and a girl who can’t choose between the one aligned with the stars and the guy who is the opposite of what the stars are telling her. The romance was sweet though, and for once, I feel as if the love triangle trope was handled nicely. It’s not instant, it is a slow realization on both sides. Let me tell you, they – Grant and Seth – do not make Wil’s choice easy. For once in my life, I don’t have a favorite (actually, not for once, Iron Fey and The Infernal Devices). I should say, for once in a contemporary, I don’t have a favorite. Everything was just so perfect, I don’t really know what else to say about it. It was all woven together with a super sparkly thread — a thread that shined so brightly it could eclipse even the brightest of stars.

Overall, Summer of Supernovas is an amazing, fun-filled, and romantically charged read. The writing is beautiful, the characters are fantastic, everything is wonderfully complex, and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. It is adorable, hilarious, quirky, and refreshing. The plot is sincere, and trust me when I tell you it will give you all the feels. Alllllll the feels.

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Books and A Beat

This week’s Teaser Tuesday is for Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods!

“…if time were really measured in grains of sand, I would take this grain and flatten it. Stretch it as far as physics allowed, let myself bask in this feeling. Forever and ever and ever.”


Summary from Goodreads:

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.
 
When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.
 
But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.


Add to Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes & Noble