Pretty Fierce

“My mother had once told me you couldn’t trust people who came into your life at the exact moment you needed them.” 

Title: Pretty Fierce

Author: Kieran Scott

Series: Standalone

Publication: April 4th 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 320

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

Kaia has been on the run her whole life. The daughter of professional assassins, she knows true danger—and she’ll do anything to survive. After her parents vanished during a job gone bad, Kaia’s spent the last year in hiding, trying to blend in as an ordinary teenager, and there’s no one who makes her feel more normal or more special than her boyfriend, Oliver.

But when she’s jumped by a hit man, and Oliver catches her fighting back, Kaia’s secret is exposed. In a split-second decision, she flees the small town, taking Oliver with her. With professional killers stalking their every move, can Oliver and Kaia protect each other long enough to uncover the mysteries of her past?


My Thoughts:

Pretty Fierce was one of those books where I went into it not knowing what to expect. I was intrigued by the synopsis, but I knew nothing and I had heard nothing about the book.  Boy am I glad I requested this book on Netgalley. Pretty Fierce is exciting, exhilarating, and a thrill ride in its own right. It’s fast paced, innovative, and surprisingly deep. Pretty Fierce is packed full of action, drama, mystery, romance, and all those little details that make spy films so enchanting. Pretty Fierce is aptly named — it’s fierce.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Black Widow: Forever Red

Every Russian family line ends in a czar. That’s the only way the genealogist gets paid, sir.

Title: Black Widow: Forever Red

Author: Margaret Stohl

Series: Standalone

Publication: October 13th 2015 by Marvel Press

Pages: 401

Source: Publisher at ALA Annual

Summary from Goodreads:

Natasha Romanoff is one of the world’s most lethal assassins. Trained from a young age in the arts of death and deception, Natasha was given the title of Black Widow by Ivan Somodorov, her brutal teacher at the Red Room, Moscow’s infamous academy for operatives.

Ava Orlova is just trying to fit in as an average Brooklyn teenager, but her life has been anything but average.The daughter of a missing Russian quantum physicist, Ava was once subjected to a series of ruthless military experiments-until she was rescued by Black Widow and placed under S.H.I.E.L.D. protection. Ava has always longed to reconnect with her mysterious savior, but Black Widow isn’t really the big sister type.

Until now.

When children all over Eastern Europe begin to go missing, and rumors of smuggled Red Room tech light up the dark net, Natasha suspects her old teacher has returned-and that Ava Orlova might be the only one who can stop him. To defeat the madman who threatens their future, Natasha and Ava must unravel their pasts. Only then will they discover the truth about the dark-eyed boy with an hourglass tattoo who haunts Ava’s dreams. . . .

Black Widow:Forever Red features all the heart-pounding adventure readers expect from Marvel, written by #1 New York Times best-selling author Margaret Stohl. Uncover a new side of the Marvel Universe that will thrill loyal fans and newcomers alike, as Stohl reveals the untold story of Black Widow for the very first time.

My Thoughts:

I was skeptical from the start. Not only had I heard that this book wasn’t really worth the hype, I have been raised as a huge Marvel superhero fan – I was terrified they were going to destroy one of my favorite characters in the Marvel universe.
There is only one way to come out and say what I want to say, so I apologize in advance.
THIS BOOK RUINED BLACK WIDOW AND EVERYTHING I LOVED ABOUT HER!

There was none of this:

Nor this:

And certainly none of this:

YOU CAN’T HAVE BLACK WIDOW WITHOUT BLACK WIDOW!

Okay, so, what do I mean by that?

Black Widow: Forever Red is supposed to be about Natasha Romanov, AKA Black Widow – but this book is barely even about her. It follows two kids, Alexi and Ava as they discover that they have special powers blah….blah…blah. Romanov barely makes an appearance even though the book is titled after her! She is present, but she is in no way, shape, or form the main character.

I will say this, the writing wasn’t bad – but it wasn’t good either. It felt forced, and it showed through the characters. Ava seemed whiny and unneeded and Alex was just a huge stereotype of anger management issues. Needless to say here, not even the characters that were involved in the plot could save this sinking ship. It was like the damn Titanic on crack. Save yourself the time, money, and the pain of reading this book – it’s not worth it. You wan’t Black Widow? Sorry, you won’t find her amazing badassery here.

I can’t even find the words to describe how upset I am right now, so instead I leave you with:

Sorry not sorry about the lack of real review here, I’m too damn angry.

The Fearless by Emma Pass (Original Pub Date On Blog: 04/13/15)

Title: The Fearless

Author: Emma Pass

Series: Standalone

Publication: April 14, 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Pages: 368

Source: Netgalley

Summary: 

For fans of The Hunger Games, Matched, Divergent, and The Fifth Wave, this fast-paced futuristic thriller tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cass and her fight to protect her younger brother from an unimaginably terrifying enemy.

The Deadliest Enemy feels no fear.

When the Fearless invaded, they injected everyone in their path with the same serum that stripped them of humanity.

Life became a waking nightmare.

Cass has the invasion seared in her memory. Seven years later, she and her brother, Jori, are living on Hope Island in a community of survivors. No one can enter, and no one can leave.

It’s the only way to stay safe.

My Thoughts:

Dystopian novels are some of my favorite types of books. Books such as The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Fifth Wave, as well as The Maze Runner, are all dystopian themed stories. The Fearless, written by Emma Pass, is one of those stories. I love dystopian books, there is something incredibly fascinating about a world where we are no longer in control. Usually, it is the government that is corrupt and the cause of the problems within the novel, like the Capitol in The Hunger Games and Jeanine in Divergent. Here, though, the government is not actually the bad guy.

The Fearless is about a virus, in a way. It was created by a group of scientists looking to eradicate the effects of PTSD in soldiers while they were still in combat situations. As usual, it started off innocent enough – but it soon got out of control. Not only did this “vaccine” take away all types of fear, it made the soldiers completely emotionless, prone to extreme flashes of violence and rage, stronger, faster, and able to see in the dark. We learn that those who have become fearless are marked by milky, silver eyes and decaying flesh. The virus starts to eat them from the inside out. The serum is also highly addictive, which causes frequent usage among the fearless, therefore causing an even faster rotting process. The fearless are not zombies, at least not in the true sense of the word – but they are close enough. Once someone has been given the serum, they become extremely violent and feel the uncontrollable need to make more just like them. The thing is, despite these urges, they can still think and function like normal people for a little while. Add this to their speed and strength and it makes them extremely dangerous.

The book starts off when the main character, Cassie, is ten years old. It is the night of the invasion. One of the things that I love the most about this book is that it starts right in the middle of the action, ten year old Cassie knows that something is going on around the world – but her parents know all the details about it. The book takes place in the United Kingdom, something it took me a while to figure out. They are the last to become overrun by the fearless, and therefore we get to see the very beginning of the invasion there through Cassie’s eyes. It was sort of traumatizing to read, really – but I loved every second of it. Mind you, this is only the first chapter.

The real story picks up a couple years later when her younger brother, Jori, is kidnapped by the fearless right out of their safe haven called Hope Island. Cassie, who now goes by Cass, breaks the number one rule of Hope Island to go after her brother. The laws of Hope state that if anyone is kidnapped by the fearless, they are considered dead unless they return on their own volition and unaltered. Cass, of course, goes after her brother with the help of who I immediately deemed the lover interest. His name is Myo, and he is wonderful.

I love the fact that this book is told from three points of view, Cass, Myo, and Sol. Sol is Cassie’s childhood friend, his father is the one that created Hope Island. I also really liked the fact that romance was not the central plot of this book. Don’t get me wrong, I love romance in books, but it would have hindered the story here. It is still there, it just isn’t the main plot. The whole point of the book is Cassie and Myo teaming up to rescue their respective siblings. Of course, attraction blooms along the way – but it takes forever for it to boil over into anything significant.

Overall, this was a wonderful book. It is packed full of action, adventure, and everything else that you could possibly want. It was a fast read for me, it sucked me in and didn’t let me go until I reached the end. I can’t wait for the rest of the series, I’m really excited to see where Cass and Myo go next. Also, I absolutely love anything to do with zombies, the scary-brain-eating-infection-epidemic kind, not Warm Bodies. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a little bit of action or a good thrill, also, if you just love Dystopian books as much as I do. I would leave this book for ages fourteen and older due to the graphic violence.

But when Hope Island’s security is breeched and Jori is taken by the Fearless, Cass will risk everything to get him back.