Heart of the Storm

Title: Heart of the Storm

Author: Michael Buckley

Series: Undertow # 3 (Undertow, Raging Sea)

Publication: February 7th 2017 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Pages: 320

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

After seven months as a captive of Minerva, the insane Alpha queen, Lyric Walker has escaped to the surface. Her only goal is to warn the world about the Great Abyss. When she finally arrives back in Coney Island, she discovers a world she never expected, one where humans and Alpha are finally working hand in hand to rebuild the country. But she soon discovers that an old enemy allied with an old friend may kill them all before the monsters get their turn.

Where will Lyric’s loyalties, and her heart, lead her? With nail-biting action and romance, Michael Buckley’s epic trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

My Thoughts:

Sometimes, writing reviews for books you love is difficult. Sometimes, it’s even harder to say goodbye to a series you’ve been in love with since day one. Heart of the Storm immediately follows the events of Raging Sea, to an extent. It’s the first book in the trilogy to jump back and forth through time – highlighting Lyric’s time while captive as well as the current events after her escape. Heart of the Storm is a brilliant conclusion to a series that has sunk its claws deep into my being. I’ve been a fan of Lyric and her gang of misfit friends since the start, and now it’s time to say goodbye.

Heart of the Storm is the final battle between Lyric, White Tower, and the monsters in the sea. The Tardigrade, as they call themselves, are on a mission to wipe out any unpure or broken children – meaning the entire human race. Lyric must accept her role and her destiny in order to save everyone and everything she loves. Heart of the Storm is hard-hitting finale that delves deeply into Lyric’s personal transformation and the idea of new beginnings.

Nothing in this book is easy. Writing about it certainly isn’t. There are no words to accurately explain just how amazing this series is. I can’t find the words to tell the series goodbye. Lyric’s journey has come to an end, like many other of my favorite book series. All I can say is this: The Undertow Trilogy builds and builds until you explode with emotion. It fills your soul, makes you weep, and makes you sing and laugh and smile. The characters have gone through such an amazing, powerful journey, and it has been an honor to follow Lyric through her battles.



Barnes & Noble


Share your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s