One Moment

What if it’s as simple as one moment? One tiny thing, like that kiss on the rocks? What if I’d kissed him a little longer? Would he be alive right now? Or what if I’d stayed with him Friday night, what if I’d been with him… wherever he was?

Title: One Moment

Author: Kristina McBride

Series: Standalone

Publication: Published January 3rd 2017 by Sky Pony Press

Pages: 288

Source: Netgalley

Summary from Goodreads:

Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below—dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

McBride delivers a novel of secrets that packs an emotional punch, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.


My Thoughts:

One Moment is the kind of book that was trying a bit too hard, but you still enjoy it anyways. I could see the plot twists coming from page one, nothing was a surprise; and yet, I found myself racing towards the end in hopes of finding out more. While One Moment might not be the best executed novel, McBride has created an excellent groundwork for something more in the future.

Maggie was unbelievable, and I think this was where some of my problems started. I didn’t read the book to see Maggie come through the end, I read the book because I myself was curious about the outcome. I couldn’t care less about what happened to Maggie. She was dense, one dimensional, and a complete ninny. How did she not see half the clues laid out right before her eyes? She is either horribly unobservant or unforgivably stupid. No, I didn’t read this book to go on Maggie’s journey. I wanted to know more about Joey, and Adam, and Shannon, and Tanna. The supporting characters stole the show, even though they all fit into perfect jello molds of stereotypes. I wanted to find out what happened to Joey, I wanted to see Adam grow, I wanted to see more bonding between Maggie and Tanna, and I’m not even going to talk about what I want to happen to Shannon.

If you put aside the character situation, One Moment was a surprisingly decent read. It had its fun moments, its sad moments, and the moments in between. I found myself genuinely curious about what was going to happen if only for the sake of knowing. The plot had some serious potholes in it, especially paired with Maggie’s entitlement and dimwitted-ness.  However, despite these setbacks, I enjoyed One Moment simply for its fundamental mystery.

If you enjoyed books such as We Were Liars and Before I Fall, I think you will find the same amount of enjoyment in this book as I did. There are some issues, yes, but overall, One Moment is entertaining and thoughtful in some unexpected ways. Definitely a nice way to kick off the new year.


Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Advertisements

Share your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s